AIA Kansas City Announces the 2011 Board of Directors Awards

The American Institute of Architects Kansas City chapter celebrated a successful year and announced the recipients of the 2011 Board Awards at their annual Holiday Party and Installation of Officers. These awards recognize individuals or firms whom have made significant contributions in advancing or preserving the built environment of metropolitan Kansas City. The recipients of this year’s recognitions included:

Architectural Preservationist of the Year – Kansas City Ballet
For Outstanding Dedication to Preservation.

Architectural Advocate of the Year Award – Julia Irene Kauffman
For Outstanding Dedication and Support of Excellence in Architecture in the Kansas City area.

Educator of the Year – John Gaunt, FAIA, University of Kansas
For Outstanding Dedication and Support of Excellence in Architecture Education

Emerging Professional of the Year – Chris Herring, Assoc. AIA, BRR Architecture
For exceptional commitment and contributions to the professional development of emerging professionals.

Volunteer of the Year – Hosam Habib, AIA, Hoefer Wysocki Architects and Patrick Leahy, AIA, Burns and McDonnell
For Outstanding Dedication and Contribution to the Advancement of The American Institute of Architects Kansas City Chapter.

Architect of the Year Award – Steve McDowell, FAIA, BNIM 
For extraordinary effort and achievement advancing the profession of architecture and its role in improving the quality of the built environment in Kansas City.

Firm of the Year Award – DLR Group
For Exemplary Contributions in 2011.

In addition the event honored the elected officers for the 2012 AIA Kansas City
Board, who were installed during the evening’s program.

AIA Kansas City Officers and Directors
Tony Rohr, AIA, President, Gould Evans
Jay Tomlinson, AIA, Past President, Helix Architecture + Design
Sonya Jury, AIA, President-elect, Burn & McDonnell
Alex Ogata, AIA, Secretary, HNTB
Galen Lif, AIA, Treasurer, PGAV Architects
Kimball Hales, AIA, 3-Year Director, Hufft Projects
Peter Sloan, AIA, 3-Year Director, 360 Architecture
Eric Bosch, AIA, 3-Year Director, City of Kansas City, Missouri
Lindsay Kenkel, AIA, Associate Director, Johnson County Facilities
Sally Wurtzler, Assoc. AIA, Associate Director, River Bluff Architects

About AIA Kansas City
The American Institute of Architects is the largest and most influential professional association for architects, interns and those directly involved in the practice of architecture. The Kansas City Chapter represents over 900 members within the greater Kansas City metropolitan area that includes Jackson, Clay, Platte, Wyandotte and Johnson counties in Missouri and Kansas. We strive to meet the needs and interests of the architects and the clients we serve by developing public awareness of the value of architecture and design.